SEQ Stars Shine In Season-Opening Win

The SEQ Dealer Trade Stars have started their inaugural WNBL season in grand style with an impressive 80-63 win over last year’s finalists Bendigo Spirit at Logan Metro Indoor Sports Centre on Friday night.

A delighted Stars coach Shane Heal said, “I was really happy for the team as they’d put in so much hard work to get us to this point, so it was nice to be rewarded early.

“Considering the challenges in not having two of our best players available through injury this shows the depth in our squad and augers well for the season ahead.”

The team’s two US imports were outstanding. Ify Ibekwe (19 points, 9 rebounds) and Denesha Stallworth (24 points, 10 rebounds) were an exciting combination and very athletic up against Bendigo’s taller players.

seq stars
SEQ Stars’ US import Ify Ibekwe drives to the hoop against Bendigo.

Guard Amy Lewis’ defensive effort and intensity was outstanding for the Stars with Rachel Jarry (14 points, 5 rebounds) providing great leadership in her first game back in the WNBL for a while.

Lauren Mansfield with 8 assists and only one turnover stepping up from the SEABL was a big addition and lead the team like a veteran.

“I couldn’t have been prouder of their desperation and the way they played together, showing intense defence but also playing with a high scoring style,” Heal said.

“The team withstood two challenges from Bendigo in the second and last quarters which was very pleasing.”

The Stars next game is this Friday against Dandenong in Melbourne.

Shane Heal said about the task against Dandenong, “The two teams are very even and it will be a big test for us to replicate our great first-up effort.

“Dandenong are used to being in the playoffs so this will be a tough battle for us.”

seq stars
Coach Shane Heal addresses his players at the break


SEQ Basketball Team Named: SEQ Stars

South East Queensland Basketball’s inaugural team in the Women’s National Basketball League has appropriately been named, SEQ Stars.

The name is the result of public nominations from fans in online feedback to name the team that will represent South East Queensland and compete from its Logan base in the 2015/16 Wattle Valley WNBL Championship.

Coach Shane Heal made the team announcement today and unveiled the final roster for the team.

“We’re delighted with the team name and think it’s very appropriate given the level of talent we’ve been able to attract,” Heal said.

“To have three Australian Opals on the team and a deep roster gives us great reason to expect to compete for the finals in our first year.”


SEQ Stars roster for the season is Erin Phillips, Rachel Jarry, Rebecca Allen, Amy Lewis, Nadeen Payne, Bree Fraley, Stephanie Bairstow, Denesha Stallworth, Ify Ibekwe, Aja Parham, Lauren Mansfield and Emma McKenzie.

Heal also revealed the full draw for season 2015/16 for the WNBL which will see nine teams compete for the championship.

The team’s first game will be against last year’s WNBL finalists, Bendigo Spirit, at the Logan Metro Indoor Sports Centre at 7.30 pm on Friday, 9th October 2015.